Hall of Fame honor

I am quite honored to be selected for the Whitewater Hall of Fame. What a suprise and an honor. See details at http://www.iwhof.org/

I have been involved in many whitewater activities, and I wouldn't trade any of the friendships along the way for anything. A quick list of friends along the way, many of whom far more deserve the award include: From Competition- slalom training Friends in Washington DC, North Carolina, and Durango, and International competitors, (many now coach or organize the sport at the Olympics)

Business Friends: The amazing network of NOC, shops and paddling schools, Dagger, Four Corners, and other Performance Video contacts. I miss seeing these folks at Outdoor Retailer each year.

And above all, folks I have spent time with on the water. The river is too awesome a place!

Thanks everyone!


(Silver Spring) MD - The International Whitewater Hall of Fame Board of Governors and the US Paddlesports Industry Association have announced that the 2007 and 2008 IWHOF induction will be hosted by the NOC Foundation at the Nantahala Outdoor Center (NOC) in Bryson City, NC, USA October 11, 2008. Twelve distinguished paddlers from around the world and their contributions to whitewater sport will be celebrated with a formal ceremony.

“We welcome IWHOF with open arms,” notes Sutton Bacon, President and CEO of the NOC. “The NOC Foundation has been formed to support the promotion of whitewater as a healthy, active sport that utilizes the great river resources in our region, and we look forward to hosting our honored guests as we celebrate their contributions to our sport.”

“The Nantahala is the home of Class of 2005 IWHOF inductee Payson Kennedy, and the new home of the William Nealy Gallery with its revolving exhibit of Nealy’s original works - a fitting location for this induction location,” notes Matt Menashes, Executive Director of the Paddlesports Industry Foundation and member of the IWHOF Board of Governors. “Besides, the enthusiasm for the event has been fantastic: we can’t wait for the ceremony to begin!” The inductees-to-be are as follows:

2007 Explorer:Walt Blackadar Champion: Cathy Hearn, Richard Fox Pioneer: Toni Prijon Advocate: Bill Endicott, William Nealy 2008 Explorer: Mick Hopkinson Champion: Gilles Zok, Eric Jackson Pioneer: Carl Luther Advocate: Kent Ford, Klaus Lettmann

IWHOF recognizes individuals who have made significant accomplishments in and contributions to whitewater-related activities, and is a program of the Paddlesports Industry Association, a 501 (c) 3 non-profit whose mission is to “promote paddling, past and present.” For more information about the induction or sponsorships contact Matt Urdan +1 828-488-2176 x191 matt.urdan@iwhof.org. To purchase tickets visit http://www.noc.com/index.php/iwhof-induction-ceremony.html or contact Michelle Fortin at +1 828-488-2176 x355, groups@noc.com.